A workflow consists of a series of moderation steps where the content must be approved before it gets published. Each step is based on a user role. Before the content becomes active, a person with the required role must approve the content.
For example, when an article is created, users that have the site Moderator role will be notified that they have content in their workflow. Once a Moderator approves the article, then users with the site Administrator role will be notified that they have content in their workflow. Once an Administrator approves the article, it will go live inside the top level community for everyone to view.
The flowcharts below will give you an idea of how workflows are executed.
While creating new content (article, blog, etc.), the system will check if there are any workflows that have been created by the admin for that particular content type. (Note: There may be more than one workflow for a single content type.)
If there is no workflow, then the entity is published directly.
If there is workflow defined, the system will:
The flowchart below describes workflow when an entity has been saved once and is edited. The edit case is applicable for the following situations:
Delayed Publishing is when the user has set a "do not publish before" date. The entity will not be published before that date.
By default, content can't be submitted again after being declined in workflow. To enable content resubmission, go to Control Panel > System > System Properties and set CanResubmitAfterDecline to true. When a user submits content and the content is declined, the user can edit the content and save it. The content will then enter workflow again.
is requesting access to a wiki that you have locked: https://my.axerosolutions.com/spaces/5/communifire-documentation/wiki/view/268/workflows