You can create rules to assign people to specific spaces based on their email domain and/or their role. This function allows you to streamline space administration, reducing the amount of space applications and invitations. You can create as many assignment rules as you like.
Email domain-based rules are applied when a user first registers and when the rule is created. Role-based rules are applied when the rule is created and each time a person's roles change. Users are removed from spaces if they no longer meet the role qualifications for the space.
Users are added to the space immediately.
Delete a user/space assignment rule to stop automatically adding users to a space. When you delete a rule, users are not removed from the space.
How to Hide the Leave Space Button
Hide the Leave Space button in the space menu to prevent people from leaving key spaces.
Is there a way to invite your whole team automatically to a new space?
Invite? You could enter a bunch of email addresses or choose a bunch of people from the invite more page.
Would it be better just to add them? You can do that from Admin dashboard > content > spaces > Add People.
Yes, assign would be better..... can that be set as a default when a new space is created?
When you create a new space you'll have to go to the Add People page.
New people can be auto-assigned to a space from Admin dashboard > system > auto user/space assignment rules.
In our next release you can indicate a role to auto-assign spaces to.
how new joiners can discover spaces without invitations?
You have several options, including:
Further to #1, is it only Spaces can be discovered, but not sub-spaces? thanks
Public sub-spaces can be discovered on their parent space page. You'll find they appear on the activity stream page in the upper right corner.
I just did some testing and it seems like the user is only added after I change their role. I left email domain at the default of * and set the role to Member. If they have logged in previously and their role doesn't change, they aren't added to the space automatically. Is there some snag in the system, or am I missing something?
There are two cases where the auto assignment rules are evaluated:
I think this is consistent with what you found. If you want to add a bunch of existing users to a space, you can do that from Control Panel > Content > Spaces > Add People
Are there plans to make the auto-assignment more robust? I have several spaces that I want to add 700 people to, and we don't want to have to continually add new hires to those spaces. We want all employees to be Members of several Corporate spaces.
okay, new hires would be added on first login. But then those spaces add sub-spaces and we have to add 700+ people to the new space
The bulk Add People feature is going to be your best bet for your scenario for awhile I think. Adding a few hundred people there I think would take just a few minutes. If you want to consider something more sophisticated and tailored you can look into the REST API.
Is there a way to auto enroll users to a space without them having to "Accept" an invitation?
Take a look at Control Panel: Add People to Space .
When you change a person's role, does the new role and corresponding space/assignment rules take place immediately. Or do they need to login again in order for the new role to take place. In addition, if I simply switch their role to something different, save and then edit the role again back to the original role (in order to try to take advantage of the user/space assignment rules) will this work? I have tested quite a bit, and can't seem to get it to work, so I'm wondering if their is a logout/login required as well.
User space assignment rules are applied immediately and updating roles will apply the associated rules.
I am new to communifire. I am using User space assignment rules with good success. Here is what I noticed and I am looking for someone to confirm what I am seeing makes sense:
Does this make sense? Seems like it should remove the user.
Deleting user space assignment rules doesn't affect previously added users. This is as designed.
is requesting access to a wiki that you have locked: https://my.axerosolutions.com/spaces/5/communifire-documentation/wiki/view/4633/user-space-assignment-rules