Loading ...

Re-assign author of one user's content without deleting user | Communifire Support

Home » Spaces » Communifire Support » forum » Features and Functionality » Re-assign author of one user's content without deleting user
Communifire Support

Leave Space :

Are you sure you want to leave this space?

Join this space:

Join this space?

Edit navigation item

Required The name that will appear in the space navigation.
Required
Required
Required The url can point to an internal or external web page.
 
Login to follow, share, and participate in this space.
Don’t have a support community login?Create your account now
Posted in: Features and Functionality

Re-assign author of one user's content without deleting user

Subscribe to RSS
  • We have a team member that has moved internally in the company, but is no longer responsible or handles content on our intranet. However, because they are the author listed for much of our older content, folks are reaching out to them for questions.

    We'd like to re-assign all of the content where she is the author to another user without actually removing her from the system since she is still employed. Is this possible?

  • Hi Zach,

    I'm checking on the best way to accomplish this for you.

    Thanks,
    Foster

  • Answered

    Hi Zach,

    One option to re-assign all the user's content is to Deactivate the user and assign all of their content to a new user. Then, immediately re-active the user. The content that was re-assigned will not be given back to the original user that has been de-activated and re-activated. 

    It is important to note, however, that the replacement user should be in all of the same spaces as the original user. Otherwise, the content will be assigned to "Anonymous" when the system cannot find the replacement user in the space.

    I hope this helps,
    Foster

  • On 4/21/2021 13:25, Foster Clark said:

    Otherwise, the content will be assigned to "Anonymous" when the system cannot find the replacement user in the space.

    If an author leaves the organization and is deactivated as a member, is the default in Communifire to assign "Anonymous" to all the content they've posted?

    Is it possible to change that default to a different term, like "internal communications team"?

    Thanks!

    Jennifer

  • Hi Jennifer,

    It is not possible to change the default. However, when de-activating the user, you can assign their content to another user. It may be best to create an "Internal Communications Team" account so that content can be re-assigned to it when a user is de-activated.

    Thanks,
    Foster

Page 1 of 1 (5 items)