We have been testing leaving spaces. From our test, it appears that a user can leave a space and rejoin that private space without difficulty. Is there logic behind the scenes that records whether a user has been in a space or has permissions to a space even though they leave it? What does leaving really do?
What user role do you have leaving the space? If a normal member leaves a private space, they should no longer be able to see that space listed under their spaces tab. They would have to get an invite back into the space to rejoin.
The user was just a member. She got back in because we have some buttons set up on the home page to help navigate to spaces. She could not see the spaces in the space list, but could get in through an exposed link.
She was offered the ability to join and did successfully.
Is there still an invitation for this user in Manage Space > People > Invitations? If so, they can join the space without approval as they were already invited.
No. I checked the top level and all of the relevant spaces tested. The user was not in any of the invitations tabs.
Can you tell me what space exactly this issue is occurring in?
She could go back into About Circle, which is understandable, I think. It's a public space.
But, she also went back into Departments, Prayer Requests and Celebrations, and Safeguarding and Community Engagement.
Yes if it is a public space she will be able to join and leave at will.
As for the others, if you go into Manage Space > Space Settings, is the IsModerated section checked yes or no?
Choose a location